Virginia Tech® home


The faculty of the Department of Agricultural, Leadership, and Community Education at Virginia Tech are committed to preparing students for success in professions that include formal and non-formal teaching and learning in agriculture, as well as skills for leading agricultural organizations and communities. 

Thomas G. Archibald, Associate Professor
Executive Director CIRED

Austin Council, Collegiate Assistant Professor
Director, Leadership and Social Change Minor

Loy Van Crowder, Professor

Tiffany Drape, Assistant Professor

Roberto Franco, AgrAbility Virginia Coordinator

Curtis R. Friedel, Associate Professor
Director and Co-Founder, Center for Cooperative Problem Solving (CCPS)

Gangseok "Chris" Hur, Research Associate

Eric K. Kaufman, Professor and Associate Department Head

Lia Kelinsky-Jones, USDA NIFA Postdoctoral Fellow

Pratyoosh Kashyap, Postdoctoral Associate

Christian Mariger, Instructor

Mikel Manchester, Associate Specialist

Kate McCain, Collegiate Assistant Professor in Leadership

Brett Milliken, Collegiate Assistant Professor
Director, Virginia Governor's School for Agriculture

Kim L. Niewolny, Professor, Graduate Program Director
Director, Virginia Beginning Farmer and Rancher Program
Director, Center for Food Systems and Community Transformation

Jean Parrella, Assistant Professor
Life Sciences Communications

Rick Rudd, Professor and Community Viability Chair
Director, Workforce Education and Development;
Center for International Research Education and Development
LSCRC Faculty Principal

Tracy Rutherford, Professor and Department Head

Hannah H. Scherer, Associate Professor, Extension Specialist

Megan M. Seibel
Director, Virginia Agriculture Leaders Obtaining Results (VALOR)
Director and Co-Founder, Center for Cooperative Problem Solving (CCPS)

Hannah M. Sunderman, Assistant Professor

Katie Trozzo, Program Associate

Crystal Tyler-Mackey, Extension Leader, Inclusion and Diversity

Jerald Walz, Collegiate Assistant Professor

Donna Westfall-Rudd, Associate Professor, Undergraduate Programs Director